arrowOur Conductorarrow

Historical Roster

Guest Artists

Manchester Symphony Orchestra Conductor

Scott HumphriesScott Humphries is a native of Alleghany County, Virginia. He received a Bachelor of Music Education from James Madison University in 1989. He received a two-year Graduate Assistantship at Virginia Tech from 1994-1996, where he worked primarily with the 350-member Marching Virginians. While at Virginia Tech, he was an assistant conductor for the University Symphonic Wind Ensemble, the director for the Hokie's Men's Basketball Pep Band, and assisted with the University Symphony Band. He also taught piano and ear training. Currently, he is continuing his work on a DMA from Boston University

As an educator, Humphries taught middle school and high school band in Virginia, where he significantly grew and improved several programs in the southwest and western highland regions. He was an assistant with the Roanoke Youth Symphony Orchestra from 1998-2008, where he directed the winds and percussion, in addition to working with the string section. He also was an adjunct faculty member for Dabney S. Lancaster Community College, where he taught music history.

Humphries has been recognized both nationally and internationally for his research. He has presented research at the VMEA Convention, the Music Educators National Conference Convention, and has been published in the international research journal Psychology of Music. Mr. Humphries is an active judge and clinician throughout the state of Virginia. He is also a published composer of music for concert band/wind ensemble.

Humphries is currently the Director of Instrumental Studies and Music Education at Manchester University in North Manchester, Indiana. He is also the conductor for the Manchester Symphony Orchestra, a semi-professional community/college collaboration now in its 79th season. He resides in Huntington, Indiana, with his wife Paige and two daughters, Brooke and Christen.

Past MSO Conductors

  Suzanne Gindin
Robert G. Jones
James P. Baldwin
Jack C. Laumer
James A. Carlson
David C. McCormick
C. Dwight Oltman
Vernon H. Stinebaugh
Jack L. Herriman
Vernon H. Stinebaugh
Samuel L. Flueckiger
W. David Koile